Rear Leg Thigh Cramps

Dealing with aches and pains--and better yet, avoiding them--and fitness related to snowboarding. This is also the place to talk about helmets, safety pads, and goggles.

Rear Leg Thigh Cramps

Postby Bwhip » Sun Apr 13, 2008 4:20 pm

This is my first year riding (5 trips so far) and I'm finding that I'm getting a lot of burning in my rear leg quadriceps during a run. It's worse when I'm traversing for long distances on my heel edge. I don't know if it's from being tense while riding, or incorrect binding angles (+15, 0) or lousy form. I could be in better shape, but I'm relatively fit (daily recumbent riding). I also live at sea level and do my riding between 4500 ft and 6000 ft.

I also have some knee pain/stiffness in the same leg for a few days afterward.

Any suggestions?
Pain is best served on a tray.
Bwhip

Postby bernwern » Mon Apr 14, 2008 9:02 am

Sounds like growing/adapting pains. You should be sore. Binding angles look pretty standard for a beginner, so no concern there.

I would say that your front leg should be sore as a beginner. Back leg implies you are leaning back and using more kick-turns rather than using your front leg/foot to torsion the board and turn using the edge. You should definitely notice it from catwalks or staying on your heel edge.

Maybe your board is too stiff or too long....what do you ride? What size rider are you (height and weight, boot size)?

Even after 17 seasons, whenever I head out to Bozeman for our 4-day Shred Fest I have the same issue happen by the last day. It is pretty normal, just odd for it to be your back leg when you are a beginner.

-B
bernwern

Postby Bwhip » Mon Apr 14, 2008 1:10 pm

Bernwern,